July 2, 2006

  • Playing in the backyard

    “Jogando no quital”, or playing in the backyard is the name of the great show my friends took me to watch today. As they told me I would really laugh out of it, then I decided to trust the good taste my friend has and joined them.  


    It all started in early 2001, when the actors César Gouvêa and Márcio Ballas decided to develop, in the backyard of César house on Cotoxó Street, a training that joined their two passions: Clown and Improvising. Then they created “Jogando no quintal”( the name of its entry) it’s a game of clown’s improvisation]impressions and the theme is just like a soccer game: anthem of the club, score board, flags, judge, players, and of course, the rooters(audience).


    from www.jogandonoquintal.com.br


    Adhering this novel experience, and attracted to the possibilities  of researching something new and interesting in this way of expression, clowns with different formation and a lot of experience gathered the two actors. Then, the first games were presented to an audience of 30 people. The show became  such a success  that the audience hasn’t stopped growing.


    Currently, the “Jogando no Quintal” receives over 2,000 people per weekend. This one, I was one to watch them.


    Basically the competition is: the judge chooses out of the audience any topic that comes to anyone’s mind and the actors/clowns have to act on that topic as well as they can. You won’t believe in those people’s imagination. And after Brazil game today, Nothing better than an evening like that. Please, I’ll let here some more links on the same site. Sadly it’s only in Portuguese, but there are great pictures. I had left my camera at home, so no photo from me yet.


    Wish you all like it( too bad not as much as I did), and also to my American readers I hope you guys have a great holiday.


    http://www.jogandonoquintal.com.br/caras.asp <—this section is called “caras” or “faces” nice pictures.


    http://www.jogandonoquintal.com.br/fotos.asp <—– here there are muuuch more on the show. It is possible for the whole of it to be seen.


    from www.jogandonoquintal.com.br


    For further information if interested, check www.altavista.com for an effective translation on the site. And I do recommend checking the pictures as well.





    P.S. Called him today. Heard his voice. Was thinking… How can a simple sound coming from someone else’s throat go straight to someone’s heart and let it in a status of bliss? hmmm…





     

Comments (11)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *